A Whole Lot of Information

Ok, pardon the lists, but it has been one hell of a week.

1. I told my mother. I decided that I have made my decision to pursue this, and I need to accept the consequences. More over, I need to help her understand why I want to walk down this road. She shocked me. She wasn’t over the moon thrilled, but she understood and said she’d support me. Wow! She stepped up to the plate in a major way. She also dug out old photos that she kept in the safe, and turned them over to me. I give her major credit for all of this. It must be hard for her and my dad.

2. I spoke again with my bio grandparents. They were soooo excited! We laughed and chatted for an hour or so. I sent them a very nice bound photo album with pictures from the past few years. My mom said that we could gather an assortment of pics form my childhood and send them to them.

3. My bio dad called yesterday. I about died. We talked for over an hour, and I’m still speachless. He emailed me pictures of him, his wife, and my sister. He has never kept me a secret…not even from his daughter. I feel so blessed right now.

4. I called them this morning due to major storms in their area last night. They have no power, but are ok. I talked to my sister. I still can’t get over the fact that she is six and I am twenty seven. I guess that just means I get to be there and experience her life as it happens.

So, I’m so scatter brained right now that coming up with a coherent post is impossible. I’m so excited, scared, thrilled, happy, insert any other adjective you can think about. Crazy! My world just feels right.

Published in: on February 2, 2007 at 10:10 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://saythatagain.wordpress.com/2007/02/02/a-whole-lot-of-information/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is so crazy wonderful. I’m glad your mum came right on board and supported you (it actually gives me a sense that when you’re holding your child, she’ll step up to the plate too. Do you think she would have responded differently if you had said, “I’m considering this” vs. “I did this.”–right now, you’re still techniaclly in the “I’m considering this” stage with adoption, so she’s voicing her opinion. But once you have your child, you will be in the “I did this” stage so maybe she’ll act differently. Does that make sense?).

    I am so happy for you. It was very brave to take these steps and rip open your world. That rip has added layers of wonder–it’s so amazing.

  2. How fantastic! All of it! I am glad that everything just feels right. I am glad your mom took this well and I think Mel might be right about the “I did this” vs. the “I am considering this.”

    I hope that things continue to go well. Any plans for meeting up with your bio dad? I am still curious – how did you find your bio grandparents? I know how overwhelming this can all be, so when things calm down, maybe you can fill in some blanks for me!

  3. Yay! I am doing a happy dance for you over here. I am so glad that your mom took the news OK. Also, I think it’s great that you’ve reestablished contact before you start you start fostering – I think it would be really emotionally difficult to deal with both of those things at the same time.

    Congratulations. What an earth-shattering week!!

  4. Wow! That sounds exciting! I sure missed a lot being tied up this weekend.

  5. Thanks for sharing this information. Really is pack with new knowledge. Keep them coming.


Leave a Reply

