What a Day!

I spoke with my bio dad’s parents yesterday! I sat there listening to them with silent tears running down my face. Silent tears of joy. They said they have always loved me. My heart skipped a beat and swelled. Every year on my birthday they said a prayer for me. They think about me often, and have wondered what kind of women I have become. They wondered if they had any great grandchildren. We talked for an hour, before finally hanging up to make and eat our respective dinneres. I hug up the phone only to cry more happy tears, and skip through the house chanting, “I have another set of grandparents, and they love me!” I found out they are Roman Catholic marriage counselors. My bio grandfather has a hearty laugh. My bio grandmother’s excitement palpatable! They begged for pictures. I promised them. In fact, I spent four to five hours yesterday and created a bound memory book on the internet. I sent it priority mail, and they should have it tomorrow or Friday. They also asked if they could see me some day. I almost laughed. “Of course!” you can! They were downright thrilled about our adoption plans. “Are you going to try for a boy or a girl or both?” they excitedly asked. I was so touched.

The entire conversation was surreal. They did tell me that my bio dad had a message for me. He told them to tell me he loves me, is going to call me very soon, but has to absorb this all for a few days. I can understand that. It’s been 25 years since he’s seen me! I also have a six year old sister. Six? Wow! So, it looks like I will be the only one bringing grandchildren into bio dad’s life for quite some time! Sooo, I’m thinking bio dad must be having one very strange conversation with bio sister right about now. I also found out that bio dad became quite the high ranking miliary man. He lives in a large house in Florida. All of this means squat to me, but it’s more information than I’ve had. He’s been remarried for about twelve years, and has a six (seven in March) year old daughter.

I’m dumbfounded. I registered at B.abies R Us yesterday AND talked to my bio grandparents. That’s a whole lot of excitement in one day!

Published in: on January 31, 2007 at 8:25 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://saythatagain.wordpress.com/2007/01/31/what-a-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I didn’t know a day could hold that much excitement!

  2. Aww! A little sister! How exciting!

  3. Craziness. Congratulations. I’m so happy you had a great talk with them.

  4. Oh Becks. I’m am covered in goosebumps!!! I’m thrilled for you.

  5. Wow, it is so exciting! It feels so good to learn you were never forgotten and still loved. I remember that feeling when I met my biological father and his family. For me, it validated so much.

    How did you find your bio grandparent’s? I am so happy they were so receptive to your call!


Leave a Reply

