From the Other Side

To make a long story very short, my mother is my biological mother. However, my father adopted me when I was two or so. It’s a story that’s filled with sadness and pain for my mother, but love on the account of my father. I grew up with mom and dad, and everything was as it should be.

However, in the back of my mind I have always wondered what my biological father is like. I’ve never met him at an age where I could remember. I have no desire to replace my dad. In fact, I can’t stand the thought of my biological father. He was evil personified. This much I am 100% certain of. Trust me. We never talk about this little detail in my family, and often it has me wondering if the adoption of me by my father has tinted my mother’s view of our desire to adopt. Just something I’m mulling over.

Perhaps she is coming around a bit more. She bought us some books on adoption the other day. It was really sweet of her.

Published in: on January 4, 2007 at 10:14 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://saythatagain.wordpress.com/2007/01/04/from-the-other-side/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve never been in her position before, but I can imagine that, if nothing else, this must bring back tons of old feelings for her. Probably memories she’d rather forget, too. It could very well be coloring her perceptions of your situation.

    I am glad to hear that she might be coming around.

  2. If she was looking at your situation, it should give her a positive view to adoption. I am glad she is coming around. It is always hard to figure out what makes other people tick, often their reactions to things are directly related to their own experiences, so you may very well be onto something.

  3. Glad to hear your mom is coming around. As soon as her future grandchild is placed with you, you will forget all the worries she had.


Leave a Reply

